If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


September New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!

Amazing releases in September, right, peeps? I am reading Magic Binds at the moment, but I'm looking forward to the rest of these reads. What about you?


Dreaming of Books #23

This feature/meme is very much like On The Smugglers Radar from The Book Smugglers , and we will use it when we really want to bring to your attention some of the very cool book releases we're looking forward to. You are welcome to borrow this feature if you want.
Well, this is my second post this year. Find the previous one here.

Summary
When a samurai is brutally murdered in a Kyoto teahouse, master ninja Hiro Hattori has just three days to find the killer before the dead man’s vengeful son kills both the beautiful geisha accused of the crime and Father Mateo, the Jesuit priest that Hiro has pledged his own life to protect. The investigation plunges Hiro and Father Mateo into the dangerous waters of Kyoto’s floating world, where they quickly learn that everyone from an elusive teahouse owner to the dead man’s dishonored brother has a motive to keep the samurai’s death a mystery.
There are ninjas and Jesuit priests, and it's in Japan. I think my want and need of this book is self-explanatory!

Summary
Destined to become Queen of Scotland.

Bound by blood to the Celtic gods.

Scotland, 1026--Gruoch, descendant of the line of MacAlpin, should have been born into a life of ease. But fate is fickle. Her father's untimely death, rumored to have been plotted by King Malcolm, leaves her future uncertain and stained by the prophecy that she will avenge her family line.

Escaping to one of the last strongholds of the old Celtic gods, Gruoch becomes an adept in arcane craft. Her encounters with the otherworld, however, suggest that magic runs stronger in Scotland than she ever imagined.

Haunted by dreams of a raven-haired man she's never met, Gruoch soon feels her fate is not her own. She is duty-bound to wed a powerful lord, if not the Prince himself; however, she's not sure she can stop her heart when she meets Banquo, a gallant highlander and druid.

Fans of Outlander and Mists of Avalon will relish this sweeping Scottish Historical Fantasy that tells the tale of Gruoch, a woman struggling to escape her fate without blood on her hands.
 
Melanie Karsak can write, I know that, and this sounds very intriguing. What do you think? 




In the enchanted kingdom of Brooklyn, the fashionable people put on cute shoes, go to parties in warehouses, drink on rooftops at sunset, and tell themselves they’ve arrived. A whole lot of Brooklyn is like that now—but not Vassa’s working-class neighborhood.

In Vassa’s neighborhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling out again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters—and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. So when Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission.

But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough-talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa just might be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighborhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair. . . .

Inspired by the Russian folktale Vassilissa the Beautiful and Sarah Porter’s years of experience teaching creative writing to New York City students.
Release date: Sept 20th, 2016
It's based on a Russian fairytale, and I'm a sucker for those, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed for this one. The latest book I read based on the same fairytale was Spells of Blood and Kin and it was very enjoyable. 


Summary

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father's wishes and society's expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle's laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.
 Release date: Sept 20th, 2016.


Sadly I was refused this book for review, which means I'll be reading it at some distant point in the future, but it sounds right up my alley. The latest I read with a similar storyline which was exquisite A Study in Scarlet Women, but there are other glorious reads in similar style. The Anatomy of Death by Felicity Young or Ripper by Amy Carol Reeves, for example.


Summary
Being a superheroine is hard. Working for one is even harder.

Evie Tanaka is the put-upon personal assistant to Aveda Jupiter, her childhood best friend and San Francisco's most beloved superheroine. She's great at her job—blending into the background, handling her boss's epic diva tantrums, and getting demon blood out of leather pants.

Unfortunately, she's not nearly as together when it comes to running her own life, standing up for herself, or raising her tempestuous teenage sister, Bea.

But everything changes when Evie's forced to pose as her glamorous boss for one night, and her darkest comes out: she has powers, too. Now it's up to her to contend with murderous cupcakes, nosy gossip bloggers, and supernatural karaoke battles—all while juggling unexpected romance and Aveda's increasingly outrageous demands. And when a larger threat emerges, Evie must finally take charge and become a superheroine in her own right... or see her city fall to a full-on demonic invasion.
Holy sh*t, I want to read this badly! I'm a sucker for superhero books, and this sounds like one hell of a ride... For similar books, look at Vicious by V.E. Schwab, After The Golden Age by Carrie Vaughn and The She-Hulk Diaries by Marta Acosta.

Summary

A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for.

Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe.

When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia’s father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia—a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators’ children. It’s a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything.

As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity truer than what she encounters from most humans. Amidst all the danger, action, and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life—and the empire.
 
Release date: Nov 1st, 2016.

Does this synopsis sound amazing or what? Please don't be as bad as Daughters of Ruin! I know S.J. Kincaid is a great author, so it shouldn't be in theory. *grins*


Summary
In 1814, the Congress of Vienna has just begun. Diplomats battle over a new map of Europe, actors vie for a chance at glory, and aristocrats and royals from across the continent come together to celebrate the downfall of Napoleon…among them Lady Caroline Wyndham, a wealthy English widow. But Caroline has a secret: she was born Karolina Vogl, daughter of a radical Viennese printer. When her father was arrested by the secret police, Caroline’s childhood was stolen from her by dark alchemy.

Under a new name and nationality, she returns to Vienna determined to save her father even if she has to resort to the same alchemy that nearly broke her before. But she isn’t expecting to meet her father’s old apprentice, Michael Steinhüller, now a charming con man in the middle of his riskiest scheme ever.

The sinister forces that shattered Caroline’s childhood still rule Vienna behind a glittering façade of balls and salons, Michael’s plan is fraught with danger, and both of their disguises are more fragile than they realize. What price will they pay to the darkness if either of them is to survive?
Release date: Nov 1st 2016.
I only read Stephanie Burgess once before, but I found her writing deeply atmospheric and gorgeous, so I'm in. What about you? 

Summary
The extraordinary new novel by Becky Chambers, author of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, called by Ann Leckie 'great fun!'

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for - and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to Becky Chambers' beloved debut novel The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars.

Release date: Oct 20th 2016.


I found the first book in series The Long Way to A Small, Angry Planet absolutely phenomenal on audio, so of course I'll be listening to this one as well. It's not sci-fi as you know it, it's more about human interactions and loneliness, our best and worst traits surrounded by space. She is an incredibly talented author.

Hope this added to your TBR, peeps... Did anything catch your attention? Let me know!

Sci-Fi Time Travel YA Audiobook Review: Return Once More by Trisha Leigh

Return Once More by Trisha Leigh (The Historians #1)


audiocopy thanks to Audible Studios

Synopsis from Goodreads
If you could learn the identity of your one true love—even though you will never meet— would you?

Years have passed since refugees from a ruined earth took to space, eventually settling a new system of planets. Science has not only made the leaps necessary to allow time travel, but the process engineered a strange side effect—predicting your one true love.

If you could save your one true love from an untimely death, would you be able to resist?

Sixteen-year-old Kaia Vespasian is an apprentice to the Historians—a group charged with using time travel to document the triumphs and failures of the past—and she can’t resist a peek at her long-dead soul mate in Ancient Egypt. Before she knows it, she’s broken every rule in the book, and the consequences of getting caught could destroy more than just her new romance.

Or would you have the strength to watch him die?

But when Kaia notices a fellow classmate snooping around in a time where he doesn’t belong, she suspects he has a secret of his own—and the conspiracy she uncovers could threaten the entire universe. If her experience has taught her anything, to changing history means facing the consequences. The Historians trained her to observe and record the past, but Kaia never guessed she might have to protect it— in a race across time to save her only chance at a future.
 


Audible US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
 What a fantastic story, you guys! Get it in any format, it's worth it, and it's especially lovely on audio. This is exactly the type of YA I adore - fast-paced, serious, merciless and with no-nonsense attitude. I got teary-eyed a couple of times because of the love story, and believe me, - it was tragic...

Friday Mini Reviews #77: J.D. Robb, Nalini Singh & Becky Chambers


Eternity in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #24.5)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
When club-hopping bad girl Tiara Kent is found dead in her plush Manhattan apartment, the killing has all the earmarks of a vampire attack. The ever-practical Lieutenant Eve Dallas has to deal with superstitious cops carrying garlic and stakes, as well as the ever-hysterical press. None of the wealthy young victim's friends seem to know much about the Dark Prince she has been secretly seeing. The chase to stop him before he kills again will lead Eve and her team into areas of the city that not even the most intrepid cop wants to visit, and into the very heart of darkness.
 
Audible US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
 
7.5/10
Oh, this was so much fun! is the Dark prince a vampire or not? What does Roarke believe in? It was a very cute, short story, and I did enjoy paranormal references. It made me think of Buffy. *grins* Recommended.
* * *
Ха! Посмеялась я с этой повести. Вампир ли Тёмный Принц или он просто притворяется? Во что верит Роарк, который беспокоится о безопасности своей жены? Эта была хорошая, свеженькая и прикольная повесть с паранормальными оттенками, что заставили меня вспомнить Баффи. *смеясь* Рекомендую. 
 
 

Hostage to Pleasure by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #5)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Separated from her son and forced to create a neural implant that will mean the effective enslavement of her psychically gifted race, Ashaya Aleine is the perfect Psy--cool, calm, emotionless...at least on the surface. Inside, she's fighting a desperate battle to save her son and escape the vicious cold of the PsyNet. Yet when escape comes, it leads not to safety, but to the lethal danger of a sniper's embrace.

DarkRiver sniper Dorian Christensen lost his sister to a Psy killer. Though he lacks the changeling ability to shift into animal form, his leopard lives within. And that leopard's rage at the brutal loss is a clawing darkness that hungers for vengeance. Falling for a Psy has never been on Dorian's agenda. But charged with protecting Ashaya and her son, he discovers that passion has a way of changing the rules...
 
Audio US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
 
7.5/10
Okay, Ashaya is a much better character than the previous book's heroine, and there was more plot and technical details here. I also enjoyed her connection to the psychotic twin and the ending. It was a pretty good read for this series if you discount the formula which makes men uber alpha and uber masculine and where all the girls are supposed to be extremely feminine. Ashaya's son was pretty awesome as well.
* * *
Окей, Ашайя оказалась гораздо лучше как характер, чем героиня предыдущей книги, и здесь было больше сюжета и технических деталей. Мне также были интересны связь между Ашайей и её психопаткой сестрой, и её очень классный сын. Так что, если отбросить саму формулу серии, что представляет мужиков убер альфами и супер мачо, а женщин хрупкими и очень женственными, то оказалось совсем неплохо.
 
 

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Somewhere within our crowded sky, a crew of wormhole builders hops from planet to planet, on their way to the job of a lifetime. To the galaxy at large, humanity is a minor species, and one patched-up construction vessel is a mere speck on the starchart. This is an everyday sort of ship, just trying to get from here to there.

But all voyages leave their mark, and even the most ordinary of people have stories worth telling. A young Martian woman, hoping the vastness of space will put some distance between herself and the life she‘s left behind. An alien pilot, navigating life without her own kind. A pacifist captain, awaiting the return of a loved one at war.

Set against a backdrop of curious cultures and distant worlds, this episodic tale weaves together the adventures of nine eclectic characters, each on a journey of their own.
 
 
 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
 
8.5/10
I absolutely loved this book! So imaginative and lovely. This sci-fi unusually for the genre has human/non-human interaction at the forefront of the plot, and the characters are absolutely gorgeous. The actual journey revolves around the inside dramas of the crew, which was fantastic. Definitely recommended eve to sci-fi newbies. I LOVED IT.
* * *
Ну вот очень, очень мне эта книга понравилась! Душевно написано и с большим вкусом. И главное, что сюжет сосредоточен на человеческих (не-человеческих) отношениях внутри команды корабля. Поэтоу и диалоги и персонажи просто шикарнейшие. У каждого своя история и своя трагедия. Очень рекомендую. Подойдет новичкам жанра.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger